Skip navigation |

Teacher Induction

The Independent Schools Teacher Induction Panel (IStip) is designated by the Department for Education as the ‘appropriate body’ for statutory induction of Newly Qualified Teachers in ISC schools.

Independent Schools Teacher Induction Panel (IStip)

ISTIP logo

IStip is the single largest statutory body for induction, with over 1200 NQTs in independent schools belonging to:

  • Girls' Schools Association (GSA)
  • Headmasters' & Headmistresses' Conference (HMC)
  • Independent Association of Prep Schools (IAPS)
  • Independent Schools Association (ISA)
  • The Society of Heads

IStip set and uphold high standards with regards to the processes and procedures of induction, enabling schools to provide quality and meaningful induction for their teachers.

23 Austin Friars

Executive Director: Judith Fenn
Telephone: +44 (0)20 3586 3137

NQT Induction Manager: Wendy Sutton-Miller
Telephone: +44 (0)20 3586 3138

Fax: +44 (0)20 3586 3140

NQT Registration Website:

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Independent Schools Council website. To find out more about the cookies, see our privacy policy.