Skip navigation |

Expert Advisory Groups

ISC facilitates the following advisory groups, working with experts from our member associations.

Information and Communication Technology strategy group

The Information and Communication Technology (ICT) expert group consists of heads and ICT specialists as recommended by the associations. The group is focusing on ICT policy in schools with controversial topics such as social networking. See the ISC ICT Strategy Group Website

Group Contact: Rudi Eliott Lockhart

Member Association
Mark Steed (Chairman) HMC/GSA
Jane Prescott GSA
Ian Philips HMC
Ian Yorston HMC
Nick Dennis HMC
Simon Fraser IAPS
Helen Stanton-Tonner ISA
Alison Shakespeare ISBA
John Moreland Society of Heads
Rudolf Eliott Lockhart ISC

Special Educational Needs expert group

The Special Educational Needs (SEN) expert group was founded immediately after the Warnock report in 1978 so that ISC’s member Associations could be kept well informed of current developments regarding SEN. The group consists of Heads and Special Educational Needs Co-ordinators (SENCos) from schools ranging from those registered as specialist to academically selective and high achieving.

The remit of the group is to:

  • Assist ISC with responding to government initiatives and be a source of information for ISC
  • Keep Heads and colleagues properly informed as to their duties and responsibilities
  • Provide a networking facility to help provide training and support for SENCos’ working within member schools

Group Contact: Buffy Handslip

Member Association
Barry Huggett (Chair) ISA
Olivera Raraty GSA
Sonia Margareto GSA
Anne Sherrard HMC
Jacqui Clarke HMC
Tracey Eldridge-Hinmers Independent
Laraine Ehlanderr-Lawrence IAPS
Penny Frost IAPS
Larraine Curzon IAPS
Jackie Murray ISA
Christine Gierhart The Society of Heads
Sarah McKimm Independent
Sunena Stoneham ISC
Annette De Looper ISC

Community Action Working Party

The Working Party has been in existence for over 40 years and consists of teachers representing the Associations’ schools with responsibility for developing programmes of Community Action, partnerships and volunteering in independent schools. It aims to foster links between schools within and outside the independent sector, in the UK and overseas, and to support schools which are beginning or seeking to expand their programmes. It holds a national conference every two years and regional meetings at intervals. The Working Party regularly advises on Government and DfE consultations and policymaking.

For more information and contacts go to

Member Association
Vikki Askew (Chair) GSA
Jeremy Orme (Treasurer) HMC
Ben Attenborough HMC
Jenifer Ball Formerly HMC
Justin Blake IAPS
Barry Brindley Formerly HMC
Graham Chandler HMC
Harry Chapman HMC
Ian Clark HMC
Elizabeth Dillarstone HMC
Sophie Entwistle HMC
Nicholas de Mattos ISA and GSA
Daniel Gill IAPS
Tim Watts HMC
Ashley Hern HMC
John Lewis HMC
Michael Morrison HMC
Mike Piercy IAPS
Muir John Potter Formerly HMC
Georgina Souter HMC
Jane Swayne Formerly The Society of Heads

Child Welfare Group

The Child Welfare Expert Group is established to anticipate, consider and respond to challenges in the following type of areas (examples only):

  • Developments in safeguarding practice – driven by legal challenges, changes to government guidance, inspection requirements etc
  • Developments in social media and IT – cyberbullying, offensive websites, digital imagery etc
  • ‘High risk’ areas for schools – self-harm, body image, anorexia etc

The Group is tasked with preparing and disseminating via ISC and member associations best practice guidance and practical advice notes for schools.

Member Association
Sarah McKimm AGBIS
Ruth Mercer GSA
Katherine Macauley GSA
Chris Jeffrey HMC
Sue Freestone HMC
Ian Yorston HMC (representing the ICT Expert Group)
Peter Wells IAPS
Diana Robinson ISBA
Durell Barnes ISI
Nicola Dudley SCIS
Dr Alison Neil The Society of Heads
Emma Verrier WISC
Tracey Eldridge-Hinmers Independent (representing the SEN Expert Group)
Annette De Looper ISC
Sunena Stoneham ISC

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the Independent Schools Council website. To find out more about the cookies, see our privacy policy.